The men’s and women’s Olympic football tournaments are among the marquee events on the world soccer scene.
Both competitions operate similarly. Here’s how they work.
Once the teams get to the Olympics, the tournament is split into two phases:
That’s all straightforward enough. But there are slight differences that make these Olympic tournaments different.
MORE: Updated men’s soccer results & women’s soccer results
As of 2021, the men’s and women’s soccer tournaments started with a different number of participating teams:
Men’s soccer has been played at every summer Olympics, while women’s soccer was introduced for the first time in 1996.
The women’s competition started out with eight teams in 1996, increased to 10 participants in 2000 and expanded to 12 teams for the 2008 Games in Beijing. With the rapid growth in women’s soccer occurring around the world, expansion to 16 teams seems inevitable.
Both men’s and women’s FIFA World Cups see the participation of the best teams with their best players after qualifying competitions that involve every national team on the planet. That’s not the case with the Olympics, and this ensures that, while still prestigious, the Olympics never compete with the World Cup.
The FIFA World Cups for men and women feature an expanded field of teams which makes both the pinnacle of achievement in the sport: 32 participants for both the men’s and women’s World Cups. The reduced field at the Olympics gives it less of a world championship feel.
Furthermore, in the case of men’s Olympic soccer only, FIFA and the International Olympic Committee limit tournament participation to players who are 23 years of age and younger, with only three over-23 selections permitted on each roster (given the pandemic delay, that age cutoff was pushed to 24 for 2021). It’s also not mandatory that club teams release male players to their national teams for the men’s Olympic tournament. That’s why you don’t see Lionel Messi playing for Argentina or Neymar playing for Brazil in Tokyo 2021, although both could have probably twisted a few arms if they really wanted to be there.
Meanwhile, the women’s Olympic soccer tournament features full senior national teams. No age restrictions.
MORE: Complete schedules for men’s soccer and women’s soccer
Each region has its own rules for determining how its qualifying slots are filled. The majority have Olympic qualifying tournaments, with some of these branded as Under-23 championships in the case of the men.
They don’t complicate things in Europe: They just repurpose their regularly scheduled men’s Under-21 European Championship to determine the four European qualifying berths to the Olympics. They also take the top European finishers at the FIFA Women’s World Cup to fill the three berths to the women’s Olympic tournament (England’s finish gave Great Britain a spot). That’s why the last women’s Olympic gold medal winner, Germany, is not at the 2021 Olympics.
Here’s the breakdown of berths around the globe for Tokyo 2021:
The reason that Africa and South America are listed as having 1.5 berths each? That half-berth refers to a playoff that’s played between both regions. Chile beat Cameroon over two matches to make the 2021 Olympics.
Lastly, the host nation automatically qualifies for the men’s and women’s soccer tournaments. Japan has both a men’s and women’s soccer team competing at the 2021 Tokyo Games.
MORE: Updated top goal scorers in the men’s tournament
World soccer governing body FIFA actually runs both men’s and women’s competitions at the Olympics and so the Laws of the Game and tournament formats line up pretty similarly with the World Cup and other international competitions.
In the group stage, teams earn three points for a win, one for a draw and none for a loss. There are tiebreakers for teams that are even on points during the three-match, round-robin group phase and they’re used in this order:
Eight teams advance from the group stages to the single-elimination knockout stages which feature quarterfinal and semifinal matches that lead up to the gold/silver-medal match and the bronze-medal match.
If you really want to delve into all the nitty gritty of the rules, all 78 pages of them are published.
During the group stage, draws after 90 minutes result in a point for each team in their respective group standings.
During the single-elimination knockout rounds, all matches in both the men’s and women’s tournaments that are tied after 90 minutes of regulation will head to 30 minutes of extra time (two periods of 15 minutes each). If the draw persists, a penalty-kick shootout will be used to determine a winner.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.